• Home
  • UA 1056
  • College of Fine Arts and Communications records

College of Fine Arts and Communications records

College of Fine Arts and Communications records

Dates: 1938-1994

Collection contains correspondence from the deans' office, Administrative Advisory Council information, building records (including blueprints and plans for the Harris Fine Arts Center), faculty files, and other general files related to the functioning of the College of Fine Arts and Communications, dating from between 1938 and 1994.

  • Extent: 2 cartons (2 linear ft.). -- 46 boxes (24 linear ft.)
  • Creator: Brigham Young University. College of Fine Arts
  • Call Number: UA 1056
  • Repository: L. Tom Perry Special Collections; University Archives; 1130 Harold B. Lee Library; Brigham Young University; Provo, Utah 84602; http://sc.lib.byu.edu/
  • Access Restrictions: Restricted. Closed for 25 years after the creation of the records and thereafter open to the public after consultation with the University Archivist and in accordance with the General Restriction Statement of the L. Tom Perry Special Collections.
Languages and Scripts
Arranged into eight series: 1. Collection on the Advisory Council, 1981-1990. 2. Building records, 1938-1965. 3. Correspondence, 1959-1966. 4. Faculty records, 1956-1966. 5. General records, 1981-1994. 6. Dean records, 1979-1992. 7. Collection on the Mormon Festival of Arts, 1970-1973. 8. Sound recordings, 1963-1979. The collection arrived in a useable working order and that order was maintained. The majority of the files are arranged chronologically.
Conditions of Use
It is the responsibility of the researcher to obtain any necessary copyright clearances. Permission to publish material from College of Fine Arts and Communications Deans' Office records must be obtained from the Supervisor of Reference Services and/or the L. Tom Perry Special Collections Board of Curators.
Preferred Citation
Initial citation: UA 1056; College of Fine Arts and Communications records; University Archives; L. Tom Perry Special Collections, Harold B. Lee Library, Brigham Young University. Following citations: UA 1056, LTPSC.
Custodial History
Transferred from Records Management in August 2003.
Acquisition Information
Transferred; Records Management; Aug. 2003.
Other Finding Aids
File-level inventory available online. http://files.lib.byu.edu/ead/XML/UA1056.xml
Subject Terms
Brigham Young University. Administrative Advisory Council; Franklin S. Harris Fine Arts Center (Provo, Utah); Colleges and Universities; Education
Genre / Form
Blueprints; Letters
Processing Information
Processed; J. Gordon Daines III; Feb. 2004.
Appraisal Information
Departmental records (University Archives collecting policy, July 2003).
Finding Aid ID Number
Finding Aid Title
College of Fine Arts and Communications records
Finding Aid Author
Finding aid prepared by Benjamin Sipes
Finding Aid Creator
This finding aid was produced using the Archivists' Toolkit 2013-11-22T12:16-0700
Finding Aid Language
Biographical Info:

Administrative History

The Brigham Young University College of Fine Arts (1925-1963) was an academic administrative unit.

The College of Fine Arts was established in 1925 when the College of Arts and Sciences transferred over some of its departments to create a separate college. It continued in operation under its name until it was established as the College of Fine Arts and Communications in 1963. College deans included: Gerrit de Jong, Jr. (1925-1959), John R. Halliday (acting dean, 1947), and Conan E. Mathews (1959-1963).

Administrative History

The Brigham Young University College of Fine Arts and Communication (established 1963) is an academic administrative unit.

In 1963 the College of Fine Arts became the College of Fine Arts and Communications. The college administers academic departments in the areas of arts, theater, dance, music, journalism, and broadcasting. The college also has responsibility for BYU Broadcasting, the Museum of Art, NewsNet, and the School of Music. College deans have included: Conan E. Mathews (1963-1966), Clawson Cannon (1967), Lorin F. Wheelwright (1967-1973), Lael J. Woodbury (1973-1982), James A. Mason (1982-1993), Bruce L. Christensen (1993-2000), K. Newell Dayley (2000-2003), and Stephen M. Jones (2003- ).

comments powered by Disqus

Site Navigation

Search this Collection

Collection Arrangement

Yellow highlight indicates current location in collection description

Series in UA 1056

Print View

Help with this Collection

Ask us a Question

Cory Nimer
University Archivist - University Archives